This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I had some fun making this cake, a simple sponge filled with butter icing and jam.

I used royal icing for  all the colours, first covered the cake with rolling icing so I have a base to work on, then the first layer I covered the cake with the icing as is, then separated the icing in to 7 bowls  leaving enough for the light blue colour, then coloured each bowl using wiltons food colouring and mixing to get the desired colour, also adding a little water to loosen the icing so it is a little running , not to much or it will be too runny and go everywhere.

You can see from the slides the process/steps to build the colours, rather simple but effective (I used royal icing so there is still some body in the icing giving that thick paint look)

Waited about 10-15 mins after each colour so they did not run into each other but as you can see some where a little more runny than others, I wanted the colours at different lengths but still had a nice look about it.

The topping was a cream mix and used whole milk, extra swirls and shaved rolled icing.

 

